Does Cafu Engine have everything I need for my idea?

Get help with installing and running the Cafu Engine here. This forum is also for general questions and discussion of all aspects regarding the Cafu Engine.
midix
Does Cafu Engine have everything I need for my idea?

Post by midix » 2012-11-02, 21:02

Hi all, I'm new here.

I'm a programmer, doing mostly some boring business software stuff. I've always been interested in game development but I do not feel smart enough to do it seriously for business. So I just read game development books, articles and I try to follow the tendencies and try some engines just for fun.

For some years already, I have an idea on my mind but I hesitate to get coding because I foresee the vast amount of work required. At first I thought it would be the best to collect my own engine myself using available libraries like Ogre3D, enet, OpenAL and Bullet physics but then I still need various tools to import files, create maps and game objects etc.

So I tried to find some game engine which is free and does not limit me. There are really just a few free engines and even less engines that provide full source code.

And today I found Cafu. The feature list is pretty impressive - almost everything that any modern game would need, and with various development tools and source code. I guess, Cafu is the best I can get for now.

But still there are some doubts about how my own "game ideas" could be integrated with the Cafu Engine.

Here is my idea of my personal "game".

It is something like SIMS game in a networked sandbox. I intend to have a city with traffic and NPC people wandering around. At first, there will be not much action going on. The game is mostly centered around interaction with NFC and the environment, so there is no need for much action. Just a large collection with various parameters which control how NPCs interact with each other and with my own avatar, when I log on to the server with a 3D client.